Skip to main content
European Innovation Council
image of the winners of the Women Innovation Prize 2023-2024
European Prize for Women Innovators

This prize celebrates the women entrepreneurs behind Europe’s ground-breaking innovations

2023-2024 edition

On 18 March, the winners of the 2023-2024 edition of the European Prize for Women Innovators were announced at the R&I Week Opening event in Brussels. The 10th edition of the prize showcases the remarkable achievements of winners and runners-up across three categories. Check them on:

EU Prize for Women Innovators 2023-2024 winners page

For the 2023 – 2024 edition, the European Innovation Council (EIC) and the European Institute for Innovation & Technology (EIT) have teamed up to create a bigger and bolder European Prize for Women Innovators, with no fewer than 9 prizes to be awarded.


The European Prize for Women Innovators celebrates the women entrepreneurs behind Europe's most game-changing innovations. The prize awards women from across the EU and countries associated to Horizon Europe, whose disruptive innovations are driving positive change for people and planet.



There are three prize categories:

  • In the Women Innovators category, three prizes of EUR 100 000, EUR 70 000 and EUR 50 000 are awarded to the three highest-ranked applications;
  • In the Rising Innovators, three prizes of EUR 50 000, EUR 30 000 and EUR 20 000 are awarded to the three highest-ranked applications from promising ‘Rising Innovators’ under the age of 35. 
  • The EIT Women Leadership Award, awarded to exceptional women leaders from the EIT Community. The winner is awarded EUR 50 000, and two runners-up are awarded EUR 30 000 and EUR 20 000 respectively.

Eligible applicants can only apply to one category.

Who should apply

All applicants must comply with the following eligibility criteria to participate: 

  1. The applicant must be a woman;
  2. The applicant must be legally established  in an EU Member State, including overseas countries and territories (OCTs) or a country associated to Horizon Europe; 
  3. The applicant must be the founder or co-founder  of the company or organisation; 
  4. The company or organisation must be established in an EU Member State including overseas countries and territories, (OCTs) or a country associated to Horizon Europe, and registered or incorporated  at least two years before the call year; 
  5. Applicants who have already received an EU or Euratom prize cannot receive a second prize for the same activities. 

In addition to the above, those applying for the Rising Innovators category must be aged under 35 at the start of the call year.  There is no age limit to apply for the Women Innovators category (or for the EIT Women Leadership category), though applicants eligible for several prize categories can only apply to one.

Applicants are expected to provide proof of eligibility upon request. 

Award criteria

Eligible applications will be evaluated against 3 award criteria:

  1. Breakthrough innovation  the company or organisation founded or co-founded by the applicant is pioneering a breakthrough and disruptive innovation focusing, among others, deep-tech and Science Technology Engineering, Mathematics (STEM) fields, within the EU or countries associated to Horizon Europe. 
  2. Impact  this innovation addresses a real need or challenge, with significant benefits for people and/or the planet. The applicant will demonstrate how the company’s or organisation’s current performance and growth is driving a positive socio-economic and/or environmental impact, among others, in terms of wellbeing, education, profit, job creation. 
  3. Inspiration the applicant is an inspiring leader, who has played a pivotal role in the success of the company or organisation and is a role model empowering other women and girls in realising their full potential. The applicant should, for example, highlight her efforts to promote gender balance within the company, organisation or beyond, and/or to advocate for innovative initiatives that have positively contributed to gender equality in, e.g., access to finance, networks, product design, education and contributes to a gender-responsive innovation.

Statistics 2019 - 2023

Increase in applications from 2019 to 2023

Applications per year: 2019-155;2020-197;2021-264;2022-277;2023-330


Split per category in 2023

Split per category in 2023


Check the whole overview

Previous editions

Discover the winners of previous editions, and read their inspiring stories.

Contact us

For more information, please contact us at EISMEA-WIPatec [dot] europa [dot] eu (EISMEA-WIP[at]ec[dot]europa[dot]eu) or eit-awardsateit [dot] europa [dot] eu (eit-awards[at]eit[dot]europa[dot]eu).

You can also follow us on social media with the hashtag #WiPrizeEU.



European Night Reception: Networking event, Europe's excellence, European top innovators; Tuesday, 4 June 2024, #EUatBIO2024
  • News article

The EIC of the European Commission is teaming up with Belgium, Estonia, Italy, Poland, and Switzerland to host the European Night Reception during BIO International Convention on 4 June 2024 in San Diego, USA

  • 1 min read