Skip to main content
European Innovation Council
News article25 November 20211 min read

Winners of the EU Prize for Women Innovators 2021 announced

The EU Prize for Women Innovators is awarded to the most talented women entrepreneurs from across the EU and countries associated to Horizon Europe, who have founded a successful company and brought innovation to the market. 

Women Innovators winners: Alibhe and Isabel Keane, Mathilde Jakobsen, Merel Boers, Daphne Haim Langford

It is funded under Horizon Europe and managed by the European Innovation Council and SMEs Executive Agency (EISMEA).

The winners, selected by a jury of independent experts, are:

  • Merel Boers from the Netherlands: co-founder and CEO of NICO-LAB, a company offering cutting-edge technology to help physicians improve emergency care.
  • Mathilde Jakobsen from Denmark: co-founder and CEO of Fresh.Land, a digital platform that shortens and digitises the food supply chain, providing easy access to good quality food.
  • Daphne Haim Langford from Israel: founder and CEO of Tarsier Pharma, a company developing disruptive medical solutions for the treatment and cure of autoimmune and inflammatory ocular diseases.

They will receive a EUR 100 000 cash prize each.

Furthermore, the Rising Innovator 2021 prize, awarded to an exceptional innovator under the age of 30, has been granted to Ailbhe and Isabel Keane from Ireland, founders of Izzy Wheels. Their company creates fashionable wheel covers for wheelchairs. Ailbhe and Isabel Keane will receive EUR 50 000 cash prize.



Publication date
25 November 2021