Skip to main content
European Innovation Council logo
European Innovation Council
European Innovation Procurement Awards

Recognising the efforts done by public and private buyers to promote and implement innovation procurement across Europe


Innovation Prizes - Procurement Awards

Innovation procurement modernises public sector with economical and higher quality solutions. These practices directly contribute to EU competitiveness, by opening a route-to-the market for new players, especially SMEs. They also help larger companies to bring innovative products to the market, stimulating cross-border company growth and the creation of jobs.

The first edition of the European Innovation Procurement Awards recognises powerful cases of public and private buyers on using innovation procurement practices across Europe and emphasises the importance of close buyer–supplier cooperation in bringing the innovative solutions to market.

The prize supports the community of European procurers to share, work together and inspire each other in the design of innovative procurement processes, and particularly in the delivery of modern and efficient public services.


The 2021 edition features three categories:

  • Innovation procurement strategy” award, which rewards long-term strategies that trigger different innovation procurements, sustainable solutions and practices;
  • Facing societal challenges” award that rewards innovative procurement practise aimed to face the COVID-19 pandemic;
  • Procurement leadership” award that recognises outstanding individual(s) who empower(s) their team to succeed and trigger innovation procurement practices.

Each category will reward the winner with EUR 75 000 and one runner-up with EUR 25 000.

The 2021 EUIPA finalists have been announced, do you want to know more? European Innovation Procurement Awards (EUIPA) 2021: discover this year’s semi-finalists!

Funding opportunities

Application process for the 2021 edition of the European Innovation Procurement Awards is closed.

The deadline for submissions was 17:00 (CET) on 29 July 2021. 

Who should apply?

The contest is open to any public or private procurer, as well as individuals located in one of the EU Member States or Associated Countries to Horizon Europe.

Award criteria

The applications are evaluated and ranked against the following criteria:

  • Transformation - adapting procurement practices towards innovation procurement, by introducing new processes and tools and by promoting the establishment of an innovation- friendly legal framework towards sustainable growth and development;
  • Uptake- replicable and scalable innovative ways of procuring a solution, which at the same time, contribute to achieving more efficient and effective services. Special attention should be paid to the promotion of best practices and to the efforts to share knowledge across stakeholders within the different territories, and to support capacity building;
  • Collaboration- the proven track of collaboration that led to the procured solution. Promotion of synergies and cooperation between actors from different countries and at different degrees of maturity in procurement practices;
  • Societal impact - practices with a positive quantitative and qualitative impact on society and people, with special emphasis on the support to the digital transformation and green deal priorities. 


How to apply

Please refer to our call documents, before submitting your application:

Contact us

For more information please contact us at