Skip to main content
European Innovation Council
News article22 March 20222 min read

European Innovation Procurement Awards: the 2022 edition is open for applications

The 2022 journey to award the game changers of European Innovation Procurement has started. The second edition of the European Innovation Procurement Awards (EUIPA) has been launched today by the European Commission. The contestants can submit their applications until 22 June 2022.

An online Info Day for applicants will be held on 26 April and registrations are open at European Innovation Procurement Awards (EUIPA) - Info Day (

The awards, supported by the European Innovation Council (EIC) under Horizon Europe, aim to recognise public and private buyers, natural persons and legal entities in their efforts to promote and stimulate innovation procurement. Innovation procurement can positively transform the economy by not only creating new and sustainable markets, but also by tackling societal challenges such as climate change.

Mariya Gabriel, Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth said:

Innovation does not happen in isolation anymore. The complex nature of demand driven innovation means working together to develop new cutting-edge solutions and knowledge. Those who have dedicated their work and career to stimulate innovation through public procurement are being acknowledged with this award.

The contest will award six prizes in total for the three categories: Innovation procurement strategy; Facing societal challenges; and Procurement leadership category.

In each category the winner will be rewarded with €75 000 and one runner-up with €25 000.

Award criteria for winners and runners up can be found on the awards page.

The contest is open to any public and private buyers, natural persons and legal entities located in one of the EU Member States or Associated Countries to Horizon Europe. The awarded procurement practice as well must have taken place in these countries.

For the Innovation procurement strategy and the Facing societal challenges category, the awarded procurement practice must relate to completed or ongoing initiatives started after 1 January 2018.

Rules of Contest describe in more detail the conditions and eligibility for participation.

The contest is open for applications until 22 June 2022 (17:00:00 CET).


The first edition of European Innovation Procurement Awards took place in 2021 and awarded its winners and runner ups at the first European Innovation Council Summit 2021.

EUIPA is one of the EIC Prizes granted under Horizon Europe, the EU's research and innovation framework programme. The prize is managed by the European Innovation Council and SMEs Executive Agency, and the winners are chosen following an assessment performed by high-level juries of independent experts.

More information:

European Innovation Procurement Awards (

Follow #EUIPAwards on Twitter and subscribe to our newsletter

EISMEA-EUIPAWARDSatec [dot] europa [dot] eu (EISMEA-EUIPAWARDS[at]ec[dot]europa[dot]eu)


Publication date
22 March 2022