Skip to main content
European Innovation Council
News announcement4 November 20212 min read

European Innovation Procurement Awards (EUIPA) 2021: finalists announced

Six applicants made it to the the final round of the first European Innovation Procurement  Awards

EIC Prizes - Procurement Award 2021

The three high-level juries of independent experts selected 6 finalists for the three EUIPA categories after a very intense selection process that included remote interviews with eleven applicants.

The finalists of this year’s edition are listed below in alphabetical order and divided into three categories.


The Innovation procurement strategy category

1.      INNO-AHA SERGAS (Spain)

2.      NCBR-IS (Poland)


The Facing societal challenges category

1.      IHSI (Belgium)

2.      WBL PCP and PPI (The Netherlands)


The Procurement leadership category

1.      C-SOC SDAPA ICT (Italy)

2.      MS-1 (Poland)


Mariya Gabriel, Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth, said: 

The finalist applicants have demonstrated the power of innovation procurement on modernising the public sector, opening new economic opportunities for companies, creating jobs and tackling the most pressing needs of our society. Their long-term strategies, their actions and their personal efforts will inspire others to follow them. I am looking forward to announcing this year’s European Innovation Procurement Awards winners at the first edition of the European Innovation Council Summit on 25 November.

Supported by the European Innovation Council under Horizon Europe, the European Innovation Procurement Awards recognise powerful cases of public and private buyers on promoting innovation procurement practices across Europe. It also emphasises the importance of close buyer–supplier cooperation in bringing the innovative solutions to market.

What happens next?

The winners and runners-up of each category will be announced at the EIC Summit on 25 November 2021 - registration is open.

Apart from the prestigious recognition, the winner of each category will be rewarded with EUR 75 000 while each of the runners-up will receive EUR 25 000.

All finalists will be invited to join a group of pioneering procurers to showcase their experimentation and gain inspiration from experiences of other procurers – for example, to learn about new approaches through the exchange of good practices, initiatives, ideas, and innovations.



Innovation procurement modernises public sector with more economical and higher quality solutions. These practices directly contribute to EU competitiveness, by opening a route-to-the market for new players, especially SMEs. They also help larger companies to bring innovative products to the market, stimulating cross-border company growth and the creation of jobs. Innovation procurement also serves to tackle the most pressing societal needs.

This is one of the four 2021 European Innovation Council Prizes that celebrate those shaping the future of innovation in Europe, alongside with the EU Prize for Women Innovators, the European Capital of Innovation Awards, the European Social Innovation Competition.



Publication date
4 November 2021


European Innovation Procurement Awards

European Innovation Procurement Awards
European Innovation Council and SMEs Executive Agency
EISMEA-EUIPAwardsatec [dot] europa [dot] eu
Social media